The 2018 Golden Whistle winners are...


Since 2011, we have awarded the Golden Whistle to recognize the best soccer films screened at our New York festival, as determined by the K+S film panel. Previous winners include Soka Afrika (2011),  Club Frontera (2016), and Inside a Volcano (2017).

Over our first decade, only feature films were eligible for the Golden Whistle. This year, we have expanded the Golden Whistle program to include the best short film.

Here are this year's winners:

FEATURE FILM: Football for Better or Worsedirected by Inger Molin
SHORT FILM: Boniek et Platinidirected by Jeremie Laurent

The winners were announced on Thursday by our co-founders Rachel and Greg, exclusively on Compass Football.

Congratulations to the films and filmmakers!

Complete list of Golden Whistle Award winners: